SCANZ | Loading…


The Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand supports scientists as they use cutting-edge techniques to investigate the world around us, create modern materials, and solve problems of worldwide significance in biology and medicine.

Global representation

The SCANZ Executive represents laboratories, researchers, and institutes within the region.

Prestigious awards

Recognising the achievements of leading scientists in Australia and New Zealand.


Organising education and outreach activities to promote the value of crystallography.

Academic discussion

Promoting communication through regional conferences and scientific forums.

We are a group of scientists interested in the general area of crystallography.

The society has about 250 members worldwide, mostly in Australia and New Zealand. SCANZ has a formal connection with Australian Academy of Science, via the National Committee for Crystallography (NCCr), and the National Committee for Materials Science and Engineering (NCMSE).

Membership Our people

News and upcoming events

22 Aug 2023–29 Aug 2023


The 26th Congress & General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography 2023 will be held in Melbourne, Australia. The venue will be the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre (MCEC), on the banks of the Yarra River. The proposed dates are 22-29 August 2023.

1 year ago

Jenny Martin elected to IUCr Executive

Congratulations to Jenny Martin, who at the 24th IUCr Congress was elected to the 10-person IUCr Executive for a 6-year term starting immediately. She continues the proud tradition of SCANZ engagement at the highest levels of the IUCr. At the same Assembly, Mitchell Guss stepped down after serving on the Executive after 6 years of outstanding service.

1 year ago

Melbourne to host IUCr Congress

SCANZ has won the right to host the 26th IUCr Congress in Melbourne in 2023, winning the vote of General Assembly delegates with an overwhelming majority of 73%. Congratulations and thanks to Michael Parker for leading the bid and the presentation.

No results were found

Australian Academy of ScienceAsian Crystallography AssociationInternational Union of Crystallography


SCANZ membership includes recognition of membership of the crystallography community, an online forum for research questions, career development and education, reduced conference registration fees, eligibility for research awards and Maslen conference scholarships, and the latest SCANZ and IUCr newsletters.

SCANZ membership is on a calendar year basis. Prices shown are currently the same in AUD and NZD. To join, two current members will need to sponsor your application; they are required to be current financial members as well. Please write to the current SCANZ secretary if you do not know any sponsors.


  • Full academic annual membership
  • for Australian and New Zealand members
  • Available as 1-year, 2-year, and 5-year subscriptions

$30/3 years

  • for currently enrolled PhD students in Australia and New Zealand
  • Available as a 3-year subscription for standard candidature


  • Research institutes, private companies, and scientific suppliers
  • Subscriptions on a per-year basis


Bragg Medal

The Lawrence Bragg Medal is awarded for distinguished contributions to science involving X-ray, neutron or electron diffraction and/or imaging.

Award conditions

Mathieson Medal

The Sandy Mathieson Medal is awarded for distinguished contributions to science involving diffraction or imaging by a researcher under 40 years of age.

Award conditions

Maslen Scholarships

Maslen Scholarships are awarded to selected postgraduate members to help fund attendance and present research at crystallography conferences.

Scholarship conditions

Contacts & Executive Council



Megan Maher
The University of Melbourne



Vice President

Charlie Bond
University of Western Australia


Portrait of SCANZ Past President 

Past President

David Aragao
Diamond Light Source



David Turner
Monash University



Jack Clegg
The University of Queensland


NZ Representative

To be confirmed



Lauren Macreadie
University of Sydney

Portrait of SCANZ Councillor


Helen Maynard-Casely
The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation

Portrait of SCANZ councillor


Christopher Sumby
The University of Adelaide



Newsletter editor

Michelle Miller
The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Portrait of SCANZ ANCCr representative

ANCCr representative

Michael Parker
University of Melbourne